Development of a dynamic model for assessing the environmental consequences of the pavement life cycle

Hessam AzariJafari (PhD student, civil and building engineering, USherbrooke)

Supervisor: Ben Amor

Co-supervisor: Ammar Yahia

Context

In the case of a large-scale life-cycle assessment (LCA), aimed at studying the environmental impacts related to new decisions related to road infrastructure, for example, it is important to consider the environmental impacts of induced changes on the market by these decisions. These changes may relate to a change in demand for several materials with the same function and / or the volume of co-products generated.

Goal

The goal is to develop a dynamic consequential LCA model allowing to take into account, in the environmental impacts, the changes induced on the market by new decisions related to the selection between a pavement in concrete or asphalt.

Methods

Consequential LCA (C-LCA) is used to integrate the direct and indirect environmental consequences related to the selection of a type of pavement. In this research project, a dynamic C-LCA model is developed to evaluate the environmental consequences following the selection of a concrete or asphalt roadway. In addition, this dynamic C-LCA model was developed to consider the different sources of uncertainty and variability related to data quality, modeling parameters and behavioral variability during the life cycle of both types of pavement.

Applications

The results show that the non-consideration of changing environmental consequences over time during the life cycle of both pavements can lead to an overestimate of the environmental damage results. The environmental impacts resulting from the substitution of the status quo (asphalt) scenario by the alternative (concrete) are then overestimated by 37, 115 and 142% form, respectively, the climate change, ecosystem quality and human health impact categories. The sources of variability contribute to 37-68% of the variance of the four categories of damage (climate change, ecosystem quality, human health and resource). However, despite the spread of various sources of uncertainty and variability in the results, the conclusion on which scenario has the best environmental performance has remained unchanged.

Partner

Ministère des Transports du Québec

Développement d'un modèle dynamique pour l'évaluation des conséquences environnementales du cycle de vie des chaussées

 

Hessam AzariJafari (Étudiant au doctorat, Génie civil et génie du bâtiment, USherbrooke)

Direction: Ben Amor

Co-direction: Ammar Yahia

Problématique

Dans le cas d'une analyse du cycle de vie (ACV) à grande échelle, visant à étudier les impacts environnementaux liés aux nouvelles décisions en lien avec les infrastructures routières, par exemple, il est important de considérer les impacts environnementaux des changements induits sur le marché par ces décisions. Ces changements peuvent concerner une modification de la demande de plusieurs matériaux ayant la même fonction et/ou du volume des coproduits générés.

Objectif

Développer un modèle d'analyse du cycle de vie conséquentielle dynamique permettant donc de prendre en compte, dans les impacts environnementaux, les changements induits sur le marché par de nouvelles décisions liées à la sélection entre une chaussée en béton ou en bitume.

 

Méthodologie

L'ACV conséquentielle (ACVC) est utilisée pour intégrer les conséquences environnementales directes et indirectes en lien avec la sélection d’un type de chaussées. Dans ce projet de recherche, un modèle d’ACVC dynamique est développé pour évaluer les conséquences environnementales suite à la sélection d’une chaussée en béton ou en bitume. De plus, ce modèle d’ACVC dynamique a été développé pour considérer les différentes sources d'incertitude et de variabilité en lien avec la qualité des données, les paramètres de modélisation et la variabilité du comportement durant le cycle de vie des deux types de chaussées.

Applications

Les résultats montrent que la non-considération des conséquences environnementales variable dans le temps durant le cycle de vie des deux chaussés peut entraîner une surestimation des résultats de dommages environnementaux. Les impacts environnementaux issus de la substitution du scénario du statu quo (bitume) par l'alternatif (béton) sont alors surestimés de 37, 115 et 142% pour les catégories d’impact changement climatique, qualité des écosystèmes et santé humaine. Les sources de variabilité contribuent à 37-68% de la variance des quatre catégories de dommages (changement climatique, qualité des écosystèmes, santé humaine et ressource). Cependant, malgré la propagation des diverses sources d'incertitude et de variabilité dans les résultats, la conclusion sur le scénario ayant la meilleure performance environnementale est demeurée inchangée.

Partenaire

Ministère des Transports du Québec