Influence of allocation methods when modelling buildings end-of-life stage

Xavier Tanguay (Master student, civil and building engineering, USherbrooke)

Supervisor: Ben Amor

Context

Material resource management is a major challenge for today's and tomorrow's society. The building sector is a major player in terms of material consumption and waste generation. These materials can be landfilled but can also be recycled. The latter initiates a new cycle of use and extends the life span of the material. Such loop extension makes the assessment of environmental impacts more complex to implement.

Goal

The purpose of this project is to evaluate, through Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) modelling, the influence of sharing (allocation) environmental impacts due to subsequent uses of materials in other life cycles.

Methods

To do so, the project will start with a characterization of the Quebec building residue management practices. Three scenarios are initially considered. The first model is a polluter pays principle, where only the current use of materials is considered. The second and third consider extending the lifetimes of materials when they are reused or recycled through different circular economy principles. These different approaches will then be compared with each other. The project implementation involves attributional LCAs. The modelling software is SimaPro 8.5. It will be used in conjunction with the Ecoinvent 3.5 database and the impact assessment will be conducted using Impact 2002+.

Applications

The rendering will quantify the gap between environmental impact sharing approaches and establish whether these methods are significant in the building sector. The project will therefore be used to position avenues for Quebec LCA practitioners working in the building sector and to take stock of the sharing of environmental costs in situations of prolonging the lifetimes of these materials.

Industrial partner

FP Innovations

Influence des méthodes d’affectations en analyse du cycle de vie traitants de la fin de vie des bâtiments au Québec

Xavier Tanguay (Étudiant à la Maîtrise, Génie civil et génie du bâtiment, USherbrooke)

Direction: Ben Amor

Problématique

La gestion des ressources matérielles consiste en un défi important pour la société d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Le secteur du bâtiment est un acteur important par sa consommation et la génération des résidus en fin de vie. Ces matériaux peuvent terminer au rebut, mais peuvent aussi être recyclés, ce qui amorce un nouveau cycle d’utilisation et prolonge la durée de vie totale du matériau. L’étude des impacts environnementaux en est d’ailleurs complexifiée lorsque cet aspect y est considéré.

Objectif

Le projet d’étude vise à évaluer, à l’aide de modélisations en analyse du cycle de vie (ACV), l’influence du partage (affectation) des impacts environnementaux qui résulte des usages subséquents des matériaux employés initialement dans le secteur des bâtiments.

Méthodologie

La réalisation du projet est fondée sur une caractérisation approfondie de la réalité québécoise en matière de gestion des résidus de bâtiments. Trois scénarios sont initialement considérés. Le premier modélise une approche de type pollueur-payeur, où seul l’usage actuel des matériaux est considéré. Les second et troisième considèrent le prolongement des durées de vies des matériaux lorsqu’ils sont réutilisés ou recyclés. Ces différentes approches seront par la suite comparées entre-elles. L’exécution du projet implique des ACV attributionnelles. Le logiciel de modélisation est SimaPro 8.5. Il sera employé de concert avec la base de données Ecoinvent 3.5 et l’évaluation des impacts sera conduite à l’aide d’Impact 2002+.

Applications

Le rendu permettra de quantifier l’écart qui existe entre les approches de partage des impacts environnementaux et établir si ces méthodes sont significatives en bâtiment. Le projet servira donc à positionner les avenues à prendre pour les praticiens des ACV québécoises œuvrant dans le domaine du bâtiment et à faire le point sur le partage des coûts environnementaux en situations de prolongement des durées de vies de ces matériaux.

 

Partenaire industriel

FP Innovations