top of page

PhD LIRIDE -
CanmetMINING (NRCan)

Sherbrooke, Qc, Canada

Job Type : Doctorate

The expertise of the Interdisciplinary Research Laboratory on Sustainable Engineering and Ecodesign (LIRIDE) focuses on life cycle impact assessment. Internationally recognized for its scientific research, LIRIDE supports industry, SMEs, and organizations in their commitment to true sustainable development supported by life cycle assessment and the circular economy. Located at the University of Sherbrooke (Canada), LIRIDE is seeking applications for the following position.

About the role

Project title: Development of an LCA model of mining vehicles using structured sub-characterization approach and probabilistic sampling.

This PhD project is part of a research partnership with Natural Resources Canada's (NRCan's) federal agency CanmetMINES, focused on the environmental issues associated with transportation and logistic in Canada's mining sector. Focusing on efforts to decarbonize mining activities in Canada, this project combines LIRIDE's LCA expertise with CanmetMINES' mining sector expertise.


The aim of this project is to develop an LCA model for assessing the environmental and human health impacts of the large-scale use of different types of mining vehicles. The model will be based on the development and generalization of the structured sub-characterization approach to inventory data, followed by probabilistic LCA sampling using Monte Carlo simulations. Taking into account different contexts of use, the development of the model will focus mainly on the energy sources required to operate these vehicles and their associated technologies. The robustness of the model to be developed will be enhanced by taking into account the influence of different types of intensity, usage and regional energy context on the lifespan, maintenance, operation and end-of-life of mining vehicles, in particular their motorized components and batteries.

Qualifications

Your qualifications should include:

  • A master's level university degree in civil, building, mechanical, environmental engineering or similar studies with excellent grades.

  • A strong interest in modeling would be an important advantage

Your admission will be subject to the standard rules of the University of Sherbrooke (funding assured for the entire duration of the PhD project). The project will start as soon as possible or upon mutual agreement.

 

You are expected to contribute to teaching and research activities of the laboratory up to a maximum of 20% of your working time.

Daily work

The work will be carried out within an interdisciplinary team of LIRIDE, in close collaboration with the partner. The team will consist of two master’s student, two PhD students, one postdoctoral fellow and researchers. In addition, an integral part of your work is to publish your results in peer-reviewed journals and present them at international conferences.

Admission

We look forward to receiving your online application including :

Resume

Credentials

Cover letter

Two references

We will begin interviewing candidates as soon as a sufficient number of applications are received.

Applications will be accepted until the position is filled.

bottom of page

top of page

Doctorat PhD LIRIDE -CanmetMINES (RNCan)

Sherbrooke, QC, Canada

Type d'emploi : Doctorat

L'expertise du Laboratoire interdisciplinaire de recherche en ingénierie durable et écoconception (LIRIDE) se concentre sur l'évaluation des impacts du cycle de vie. Reconnu internationalement pour ses travaux de recherche scientifique, le LIRIDE soutient l'industrie, les PME, et les organisations dans leur engagement vers un véritable développement durable soutenu par l'analyse du cycle de vie et l'économie circulaire. Situé à l’Université de Sherbrooke (Canada), le LIRIDE lance un appel aux candidatures pour le poste ci-dessous.

Description

Titre du projet : Développement d’un modèle acv des véhicules miniers à l’aide de la sous-caractérisation structurée et du triage probabiliste.

Ce projet de doctorat s'inscrit dans le cadre d’un partenariat de recherche avec l’organisme fédéral CanmetMINES de Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan), porté par les enjeux environnementaux associés au transport et à la logistique dans le secteur minier au Canada. Orienté sur les efforts de décarbonation des activités de l’industrie minière au Canada, ce projet allie l’expertise en ACV du LIRIDE et l’expertise du secteur minier se CanmetMINES.


Ce projet vise à développer un modèle ACV permettant l’évaluation des impacts environnementaux et sur la santé humaine de l’utilisation à grande échelle de différents types de véhicules miniers. Ce modèle s’appuiera sur le développement et la généralisation de l’approche de sous-caractérisation structurée des données d’inventaire suivi de triage probabiliste en ACV effectué par simulation de type Monte-Carlo. Tenant compte de différents contextes d’utilisation, le développement du modèle s’articulera principalement autour des sources énergétiques requises pour opérer ces véhicules et de leurs technologies associées. La prise en compte de l’influence de différents types d’intensité, d’usage et de contexte énergétique régional sur la durée de vie, la maintenance, l’opération et la fin de vie des véhicules miniers, notamment leurs composantes motorisées et leurs batteries, permettra d’augmenter la robustesse du modèle qui sera développé.

Compétences et qualités requises

Vos qualifications doivent comprendre :

  • Un diplôme universitaire de niveau maîtrise en génie civil, du bâtiment, mécanique, environnemental ou des études similaires avec d'excellentes notes.

  • Un intérêt pour la modélisation serait un avantage important.

 

Votre admission sera soumise aux règles standards de l'Université de Sherbrooke (financement assuré pour toute la durée du doctorat). Le projet débutera dès que possible ou sur accord mutuel.

 

Il est attendu que vous contribuiez à des activités d'enseignement et de recherche du laboratoire jusqu'à un maximum de 20 % de votre temps de travail.

Travail au quotidien

Les travaux seront menés au sein d'une équipe interdisciplinaire du LIRIDE, en étroite collaboration avec le partenaire. L'équipe sera composée de deux étudiants à la maîtrise, de deux doctorants, d’un postdoctorant et de professionnel.le.s de recherche. De plus, une partie intégrante de votre travail consiste à publier vos résultats dans des revues à comité de lecture et à les présenter lors de conférences internationales.

Application

Nous attendons avec impatience de recevoir votre candidature en ligne comprenant :

CV

Diplôme

Lettre de motivation

Deux références

Nous commencerons à interroger les candidats dès qu'un nombre suffisant de candidatures sera reçu.

Les candidatures seront acceptées jusqu'à ce que le poste soit pourvu.

bottom of page