top of page

PhD LIRIDE -
Next-Generation Wood Construction

Sherbrooke, Qc, Canada

Job Type : Doctorate

The expertise of the Interdisciplinary Research Laboratory on Sustainable Engineering and Ecodesign (LIRIDE) focuses on life cycle impact assessment. Internationally recognized for its scientific research, LIRIDE supports industry, SMEs, and organizations in their commitment to true sustainable development supported by life cycle assessment and the circular economy. Located at the University of Sherbrooke (Canada), LIRIDE is seeking applications for the following position.

About the role

Project title: Development of biogenic carbon life cycle inventory for long-lived harvested wood building products.

This PhD project is part of the first major initiative of the Canadian Wood Construction Research Network (CWCRN) that promotes academic research on wood construction in Canada. This initiative aims to train over 50 HQP supervised by a team of experts consisting of 31 faculty members from 14 Canadian universities and another 20 scientists and professionals from 12 government and industry partners. LIRIDE's expertise will contribute to developing and clarifying knowledge relating to the life-cycle environmental benefits of wood construction.


This research project will focus on the initial requirements for establishing high spatial/temporal resolution forest biogenic carbon dynamic datasets at both stand- and landscape-level resolution that could be utilized for LCI dataset development of key forest management scenarios specific to major forest regions across Canada. To accomplish this, there is a need to further develop at the operational scale the Carbon Budget Model of the Canadian Forest Sector (CBMCFS3). CBM-CFS3 is an aspatial, stand- and landscape-level modelling framework that simulates the dynamics of all forest carbon stocks in Canada. It is capable of quantifying the carbon contributions for different archetypes of forest management, which in turn can be compiled in a LCI database. Interoperability with commonly used databases for LCA, such as ecoinvent, will be facilitated through the development of an algorithm and workflow for generating the life cycle impacts of the production of long-lived harvested wood products.

Qualifications

Your qualifications should include:

  • A master's level university degree in civil, building, mechanical, environmental engineering or similar studies with excellent grades.

  • A strong interest in modeling would be an important advantage

Your admission will be subject to the standard rules of the University of Sherbrooke (funding assured for the entire duration of the PhD project). The project will start as soon as possible or upon mutual agreement.

 

You are expected to contribute to teaching and research activities of the laboratory up to a maximum of 20% of your working time.

Daily work

The work will be carried out within an interdisciplinary team of LIRIDE, in close collaboration with the various stakeholders in the initiative. The team will consist of one master’s student, three PhD students and researchers. In addition, an integral part of your work is to publish your results in peer-reviewed journals and present them at international conferences.

Admission

We look forward to receiving your online application including :

Resume

Credentials

Cover letter

Two references

We will begin interviewing candidates as soon as a sufficient number of applications are received.

Applications will be accepted until the position is filled.

bottom of page

top of page

Doctorat PhD LIRIDE -
Next-Generation Wood Construction

Sherbrooke, QC, Canada

Type d'emploi : Doctorat

L'expertise du Laboratoire interdisciplinaire de recherche en ingénierie durable et écoconception (LIRIDE) se concentre sur l'évaluation des impacts du cycle de vie. Reconnu internationalement pour ses travaux de recherche scientifique, le LIRIDE soutient l'industrie, les PME, et les organisations dans leur engagement vers un véritable développement durable soutenu par l'analyse du cycle de vie et l'économie circulaire. Situé à l’Université de Sherbrooke (Canada), le LIRIDE lance un appel aux candidatures pour le poste ci-dessous.

Description

Titre du projet : Développement d'un inventaire du cycle de vie du carbone biogénique pour les produits de construction en bois à longue durée.

Ce projet de doctorat s'inscrit dans le cadre de la première initiative majeure du Canadian Wood Construction Research Network (CWCRN), qui fait la promotion de la recherche académique sur la construction en bois au Canada. Cette initiative vise à former plus de 50 personnes étudiantes supervisées par une équipe d'experts composée de 31 membres du corps enseignant de 14 universités canadiennes et de 20 autres scientifiques et professionnels de 12 partenaires gouvernementaux et industriels. L’expertise du LIRIDE contribuera à développer et à préciser les connaissances en lien avec les avantages environnementaux de la construction en bois.


Ce projet se concentrera sur les exigences encadrant l’établissement des données sur la dynamique du carbone biogénique forestier à haute résolution spatiale et temporelle, à la fois au niveau des peuplements et des paysages. Ces données permettront de développer l’inventaire du cycle de vie (ICV) pour des scénarios clés de gestion forestière des principales régions forestières du Canada. Pour ce faire, le développement à l'échelle opérationnelle du modèle de bilan carbone du secteur forestier canadien (CBM-CFS3) sera poursuivi. Le CBM-CFS3 est un cadre de modélisation aspatial, au niveau des peuplements et des paysages, qui simule la dynamique de tous les stocks de carbone forestier au Canada. Il permet de quantifier les contributions en carbone pour différents archétypes de gestion forestière. L'interopérabilité avec les bases de données couramment utilisées pour l'ACV, telles qu’ecoinvent, sera facilitée par le développement d'un algorithme et d'un flux de travail pour générer les impacts du cycle de vie de la production de produits ligneux récoltés à longue durée de vie.

Compétences et qualités requises

Vos qualifications doivent comprendre :

  • Un diplôme universitaire de niveau maîtrise en génie civil, du bâtiment, mécanique, environnemental ou des études similaires avec d'excellentes notes.

  • Un intérêt pour la modélisation serait un avantage important.

 

Votre admission sera soumise aux règles standards de l'Université de Sherbrooke (financement assuré pour toute la durée du doctorat). Le projet débutera dès que possible ou sur accord mutuel.

 

Il est attendu que vous contribuiez à des activités d'enseignement et de recherche du laboratoire jusqu'à un maximum de 20 % de votre temps de travail.

Travail au quotidien

Les travaux seront menés au sein d'une équipe interdisciplinaire du LIRIDE, en étroite collaboration avec les différentes parties prenantes de l’initiative. L'équipe sera composée de personnes étudiantes, dont une à la maîtrise et trois au doctorat, et de professionnel.le.s de recherche. De plus, une partie intégrante de votre travail consistera à publier vos résultats dans des revues à comité de lecture et à les présenter lors de conférences internationales.

Application

Nous attendons avec impatience de recevoir votre candidature en ligne comprenant :

CV

Diplôme

Lettre de motivation

Deux références

Nous commencerons à interroger les candidats dès qu'un nombre suffisant de candidatures sera reçu.

Les candidatures seront acceptées jusqu'à ce que le poste soit pourvu.

bottom of page