About our director

Ben Amor is an associate professor in the Department of Civil and Building Engineering at the Université de Sherbrooke (UdeS) with research and teaching activities in sustainable engineering, Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) and circular economy. He is also Director of Sustainable Development in the Faculty of Engineering and Director of the Building undergraduate Engineering Program, in addition to supervising graduate students working on the methodological development of LCA, including its application in the building, materials and energy sector. Since joining the UdeS, several significant contributions have been made by Professor Ben Amor.

 

Through the creation of the Interdisciplinary Research Laboratory in Life Cycle Assessment and Circular Economy (LIRIDE), Ben has developed multidisciplinary and interuniversity expertise in LCA and circular economy through collaborations with other researchers, chairs, research centres and industries. Indeed, Professor Ben Amor has established several major collaborations for the integration of LCA with five Industrial Research Chairs: the SAQ Chair in Glass Upgrading (UdeS); the NSERC Chair in the development and use of fluid concrete with adapted rheology (UdeS); the Industrial Research Chair in Ecoresponsible Wood Construction - CIRCERB (ULaval); the Chair in Energy Sector Management (HEC Montréal) and the NSERC Industrial Research Chair - Canlak in Interior Wood Products Finishing (ULaval).

 

Technology transfer is an important component of LIRIDE's research activities. LIRIDE is the Canadian scientific partner of OpenLCA open source software, one of the 3 most used software in LCA around the world. Another example of an important contribution is the writing of several major references in the field of LCA, in addition to putting into place the LIRIDE YouTube channel to explain the basic knowledge of LCA.

 

Prof. Ben Amor is strongly involved in several national and international scientific committees, such as the UNEP/SETAC life cycle initiative and also in the methodological development of LCA, particularly in the updating of ISO standards and the development and advancement of LCA tools.

À Propos de notre directeur

Ben Amor est professeur agrégé au département de génie civil et génie du bâtiment de l’Université de Sherbrooke (UdeS) avec des tâches de recherche et d’enseignement en ingénierie durable, en Analyse du Cycle de Vie (ACV) et en économie circulaire. Il est également directeur au développement durable à la faculté de génie et directeur du programme de baccalauréat en génie du bâtiment et dirige des étudiants aux deuxième et troisième cycles sur le développement de l’ACV, incluant son application dans le secteur du bâtiment, des matériaux et de l’énergie. Depuis qu’il a joint l’UdeS, plusieurs contributions significatives ont été réalisées par le Pr. Ben Amor.

Par la création du Laboratoire Interdisciplinaire de Recherche en Ingénierie Durable et en Écoconception (LIRIDE), Ben a mis en place une expertise multidisciplinaire et interuniversitaires en ACV et économie circulaire à travers les collaborations effectuées avec d’autres chercheurs, chaires, centres de recherche et industries. En effet, le Pr. Ben Amor a établi plusieurs collaborations majeures pour l’intégration de l’ACV avec cinq chaires de recherche industrielle : la Chaire SAQ valorisation du verre (UdeS); la Chaire CRSNG sur le développement et l’utilisation du béton fluide à rhéologie adaptée (UdeS); la Chaire industrielle de recherche sur la construction écoresponsable en bois – CIRCERB (ULaval); la Chaire de gestion du secteur de l’énergie (HEC Montréal) et la Chaire de recherche industrielle CRSNG – Canlak en finition des produits du bois d'intérieur (ULaval).

Le transfert de technologie est une composante importante qui découle des activités de recherche du LIRIDE. Le LIRIDE est le partenaire scientifique canadien du logiciel open source OpenLCA, un des 3 logiciels les plus utilisés à travers le monde en ACV. La rédaction de plusieurs références et la mise en place d’une chaine YouTube du LIRIDE pour expliquer les éléments de bases de l’ACV sont un autre exemple de contribution importante.

 

Le Pr. Ben Amor est fortement impliqué dans plusieurs comités scientifiques nationaux et internationaux, comme celui de l’UNEP/SETAC life cycle initiative et également dans le développement méthodologique de l’ACV notamment dans la mise à jour des normes ISO et dans le développement et l’avancement des outils ACV.